The Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

This announcement is for information purposes only and does not constitute an invitation or offer to acquire or subscribe for securities.



## The Bank of East Asia, Limited

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

## U.S.\$550,000,000 5.625 PER CENT. SUBORDINATED NOTES DUE 2015

(THE "NOTES") (Stock Code: 2532)

## **Delisting of the Notes**

The Bank announces the delisting of the Notes.

Reference is made to the notice of listing made by The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") on 9<sup>th</sup> December, 2005 in relation to the Notes issued by the Bank on 13<sup>th</sup> December, 2005.

The Bank has exercised its option to redeem the outstanding balance of the Notes in whole on 14<sup>th</sup> December, 2010 in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of the Notes.

Following the redemption of the Notes on 14<sup>th</sup> December, 2010, there are no further outstanding Notes in issue. Accordingly, the Bank has made an application to The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited for the Notes to be delisted. Delisting of the Notes will take effect from the close of business on 21<sup>st</sup> December, 2010.

By the Order of the Board **The Bank of East Asia, Limited David LI Kwok-po** *Chairman & Chief Executive* 

Hong Kong, 15<sup>th</sup> December, 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Director of the Bank is: Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po (Chairman & Chief Executive); Non-executive Directors of the Bank are: Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung (Deputy Chairman), Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen, Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze and Dr. Isidro FAINÉ CASAS; and Independent Non-executive Directors are: Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun (Deputy Chairman), Mr. WONG Chung-hin, Dr. LEE Shau-kee, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai, Mr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming, Mr. William DOO Wai-hoi, Mr. KUOK Khoon-ean and Mr. Valiant CHEUNG Kin-piu.